top of page

Emerging Professional Leadership Awards

Chuck Kimmel First Time Attendee Scholarship Award

To help more students attend the NATA Clinical Symposia & AT Expo, the NATA Student Leadership Committee is offering this scholarship. This scholarship will provide a total of $2,000 in award money to one to four athletic training students who have never attended the annual convention. Chuck Kimmel First-Time Attendee Scholarship Award applications will be accepted between approximately February 15th and April 15th each year.


The applicant must be a first time NATA Convention Attendee during the upcoming NATA Symposia in June. They must also currently be enrolled in a CAATE accredited athletic training program and in good standing within their athletic training program. Since this is a student scholarship, the applicant cannot be eligible to sit for the BOC exam.


Please refer to the criteria and due dates on the NATA website for the most current information.


Bobby Gunn Award

Bobby Gunn.jpg

The Bobby Gunn Student Leadership Award was created to recognize one of the true pioneers in athletic training and the instrumental role he has played in the profession. It provides a deserving student from each district assistance to attend NATA’s Annual Clinical Symposia.

Who was Bobby Gunn?

Robert “Bobby” Gunn was a true unsung hero of athletic training. He was a founding officer of the Southwest Athletic Trainers’ Association (SWATA) in 1955 and served as SWATA vice president from 1955-56 and SWATA president for two consecutive terms in 1956 and 1957. During this time, Gunn typed the original SWATA constitution. He became the District Six director in 1963. From 1965-69, he served on the NATA Board of Directors, the last two years as chair. Gunn was the first person elected and re-elected, serving as NATA president from 1970-74. Along with his commitment regionally and nationally, Gunn also served as a representative to the Joint Commission on Competitive Safeguards and Medical Aspects of Sports, American College Health Association and AMA Conference on Medical Aspects of Sports.

In addition to his service to the profession, he also served as athletic trainer for the third Pan Am Games (1959), Lamar University (1962), USA Soccer Team (1964), Pan Am Games (1967), NFL Washington Redskins, Houston Oilers (1962-1974), Shreveport Steamer of World Football League (1974) and five Texas High School Coaches Association All Star Games. He completed his career as a clinical outreach athletic trainer with Baylor Hospital system. After years of commitment, service and contribution, Gunn was honored as a SWATA Hall of Fame charter member and NATA Hall of Fame member.

You can read more about Gunn's legacy in the April 2007 edition of the NATA News.


Students who are in a professional CAATE approved program and are members of the NATA can apply for the Bobby Gunn Award.  RMATA Student Senate Leadership experience is preferred.  The Award waives your NATA Clinical Symposia registration fee and allows for up to $500 in travel costs to be reimbursed.  The recipient must be able to attend the Pinky Newell Reception while at the Symposia.  Due date is January 25th of each year for that year’s NATA Symposia.


Bobby Gunn Student Leadership Award



D. Scott Linaker Leadership Award


Scott Linaker has served the RMATA in many capacities, and his efforts have been honored by being not only an Arizona and RMATA Hall of Fame member, but also an NATA Hall of Fame Member.  He has worked tirelessly to promote leadership opportunities for young ATs and encourage RMATA members to become involved in the RMATA and NATA through volunteer work.  

The RMATA honors his work by offering the D. Scott Linaker Leadership Award.  

The Award includes registration to the NATA Clinical Symposia and a $500 travel reimbursement stipend.  Criteria for the Award includes:

  • NATA/RMATA Student Membership

  • Activity with the RMATA Student Senate (current or newly elected for next academic year)

  • Must be able to attend the NATA Clinical Symposia


Due date for the D. Scott Linaker Award submission is March 15 each year for the June NATA Symposia

bottom of page