top of page




2023 Distinguished Athletic Trainer Award Brandie Martin

Originally from Eagle, Colorado, she has been a certified athletic trainer since 2004. Brandie attended University of Wyoming for her Bachelor of Science in Exercise and Sports Science.  She attended the University of Southern Mississippi for her Master of Science in Sport Administration.  Following her master’s degree Brandie completed her fellowship training at The Steadman-Hawkins Clinic, now The Steadman Clinic in Vail, CO. Her clinical experiences include working with the US Women’s Alpine Ski Team and US Snowboard-Cross Team. In 2010 she represented the US medical team at the Vancouver Winter Olympic Games with alpine skiing, and again in 2014 at the Sochi Winter Olympic Games with boarder cross. She has worked multiple alpine skiing and snowboard world and national championship games and has been a member of the United States Olympic & Paralympic Committee and United States Ski and Snowboard Association medical volunteer pools.  She is the athletic training Program Director for a variety of youth and adult sporting organizations, including 4 high schools and 2 Ski & Snowboard Clubs, and she is actively involved in community outreach programs including concussion and COVID management.  She is currently the Program Director of The Steadman Clinic Athletic Training Residency Program, which she has been overseeing for the past 11 years.  She has served on the Post-Professional Education Committee for the National Athletic Training Association and is currently a council member to the Board of Certification on Specialty Certification for athletic trainers, helping to develop the first ever AT specialty examination in Orthopaedics.


2023 Special Recognition Award

Sheri Lampin

After high school, Sheri enlisted in the United States Air Force and went to Target Intelligence technical school before becoming an Information Management Specialist. She was stationed in Mountain Home AFB, Idaho, and Peterson AFB, Colorado during her active duty time and then served 2 years in the Air Force Reserves assigned to Peterson AFB and Schriever AFB in the Colorado Springs area.


She attended the University of Southern Colorado in 2002, where she earned a bachelor’s degree, completing her internship hours at the Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs. She went on to receive her master’s degree in health and kinesiology from the University of Texas at Tyler in 2004 while working at Whitehouse High School as an athletic trainer. She moved back to the RMATA to work at the University of Wyoming where she worked as the athletic trainer and was a clinical instructor, teaching classes in the athletic training curriculum program.  In 2005, Sheri returned to the Air Force Academy as a full time staff athletic trainer.  In her free time, she runs her own equine therapy business.


Sheri has been a 19-year volunteer for the Justin Sports Medicine Team PRCA Rodeo and an 18 -year volunteer for the RMATA, spending her first 6 years as the Audio/Visual coordinator and has been the Exhibit Coordinator for 13 years. 


A native of Glenrock, Wyoming, Sheri and her husband, Jessie, live in Larkspur, Colorado.


2023 President’s Award

Dr. Martin Boublik, MD

Dr. Boublik began his history in Colorado in 1992 as one of the first sports medicine fellows of the esteemed Steadman Hawkins Clinic in Vail. He opened the Steadman Hawkins Clinic Denver in 1993. In setting up his clinic, Dr. Boublik has hired athletic trainers to help on the rehabilitation side and provide outreach to several high schools.  Along with opening up the clinic, he became a team physician for the Denver Broncos Professional Football Team and, as the clinic acquired the rights to the Colorado Rockies, Dr. Boublik became their associate team physician.  Dr. Boublik was able to develop strong relationships with some of the highest level ATs in Colorado. He understands how valuable those providers are for the welfare of the athletes.

He has  been part of the Cherry Creek High School (CCHS) athletics program, working with the athletes of CCHS since 1997.  Dr. Boublik has also served as part of the CCSD Medical Advisory Board, setting up policy and procedures as the orthopedic/sports medicine expert. This relationship was crucial in UCHealth becoming the AT providers for the six high schools in the CCSD in 2020. He has never wavered in his support of the secondary school student-athletes and ATs in the schools.

Dr. Boublik has been a strong supporter of athletic training licensure in Colorado and lent his time to promote the value of ATs. He has been a great reference for government officials with questions, comments, and concerns of the AT licensure Bill in 2019 that eventually passed. He has taken the opportunity to speak at the RMATA Annual Clinical Symposium in the past and has spoken locally at various continuing education courses.

Previous Award Recipients


RMATA Distinguished Athletic Trainer Award Recipients

Wayne Barger

Jack Baynes

David Draper

Rich Gerrells

Kelli Lotito

Shannon Courtney

Chris Mathewson

Lisa Walker

Ron Meurer

Michael O’Larey

Steve Scales

Kenneth Lam


RMATA Special Recognition Recipients

Heather Downs

Patty Fahringer


RMATA Educator Recognition Recipients

Monica Lininger

Krista Prusak

Sara Nottingham


RMATA Distinguished Educator Recipients

Debbie Craig

Gary Delforge

Earlene Durrant

Tom Lyle

Carrie Meyer

Eric Sauers

Sue K. Hillman

Christine Odell

James Turk

Barton Anderson

Susan McGowan


RMATA President’s Award Recipients

Rick Ball 

Frank Freeman

Dr. H. Andrew Motz, MD

Paul Ray

Paul DiNapoli

Christopher McGrew 

Dr. K. Brooke Pengel, MD

Suzanne Hamilton

Dr. John Lucas, DO

Mary Tucker


RMATA Secondary Schools Synergy Award Recipients

Aaron Stem

Lisa Walker

bottom of page